Here there be cookies.

Here there be cookies. (Blogger uses cookies, folks, but I am sure they are gluten free.)

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

General Mills Update

I received this in an email and decided to just c&p it here. One thing I have noticed about prepackaged gluten free products, they are usually loaded with sugar and other junk. That way we can be as unhealthy as the rest of the world!

General Mills Announcement
3/31/09

"Thank you for contacting General Mills regarding gluten in Corn Chex cereal. General Mills is reformulating the following Big G Cereals to gluten free status:

· Corn Chex
· Honey Nut Chex
· Strawberry Chex
· Chocolate Chex
· Cinnamon Chex

As was the case with Gluten Free Rice Chex, the barley malt ingredient was removed and replaced with another ingredient. Production has begun, so you may start seeing the gluten free formulas on store shelves now. All 5 products should be widely available across the U.S. by June 1, 2009. As with all reformulated products, both products may be on store shelves at the same time so please read labels/packaging carefully, examining the product packaging to ensure that the cereal inside the box is in fact the new, gluten free product. Look for "NOW GLUTEN FREE" or "GLUTEN FREE" on the front/side/back panels.

In addition, the following Betty Crocker Gluten Free mixes will be available at approximately the same time:

Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie Mix
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Devils Food Cake Mix
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet when they are not labeled Gluten Free. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package; and for this reason, we do not offer a gluten-free product list.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing. We want you to be assured that if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the products ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information. "

Saturday, April 18, 2009

Cake















I started with Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Mix. I mixed it together according to the directions on the package, but I added about 1/2 cup cornstarch to the dry ingredients (Sarah figured out that cornstarch really improves the texture of a baked item). I put it in a 9x13 glass pan, though the package recommends to 8" round cake pans, and sprinkled chopped walnuts, Hershey's chocolate chips and Kraft Miniature marshmallows on top. I then baked it for the amount of time the package suggested for the 8" cakes.

This cake had a great texture and was delicious. It was smooth and the flavor was very much like a Devil's Food cake. It was for my mother's birthday and she said it was the best chocolate cake she had ever eaten. Did I mention she isn't gluten intolerant?